Instant Backpackers
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  4.4
 Rooms  4.2
 Cleanliness  4.4
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  4.4
 Service & Staff  4.6
 Food / Dining  4.1
 Total  4.3

"Most horrible experience ever"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Ashley M. of ADEL, United States
Reviewed:   December 23, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   December 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This hostel closed without giving me any notice. I showed up the day of my reservation and they were closed. There was no one on site to help me and I had to find new accommodations while waiting on the street. I'm just glad it wasn't late at night when I showed up. Worst experience ever.

"The hostel I wouldn't stay again"

User Rating:  2.5
Reviewer:   Marina A. of NSW, Australia
Reviewed:   November 25, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   November 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
This is the worst hostel I stayed in the US. When I arrived at 6:30pm no staff was there. I was ringing the bell for half an hour till one of the customers opened the front door for me. They had forgotten to leave the key for me in the mailbox outside. I had to call them asking what should I do next. The issue was sorted out by another customer who helped me to look for the key at the front desk. The private room I stayed was dirty and cold; the floor lamps didn't work. No black tea, milk or juice for breakfast. I paid the full price for the stay, and I feel it's a waste of money.

"MORE THAN I EXPECTED!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Sumz H. of Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed:   October 17, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   October 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I booked this trip last minute. I was attending a conference and on a student budget, did not want to spend too much money and still be close to the conference centre right downtown. Booking was easy. I left a note when booking about arriving after midnight and they made it easy to get in and settle down. Check-in was the next day when I had time. The room assignment was thoughtful - Tatiana read my mind and gave me the privacy and quietness I needed. She provides a full tour of the place and makes sure everyone is comfortable and familiar with the area for each guest. The hostel was clean and quaint. Getting around was easy, even with cabs in my case it was cheaper than staying downtown. The private room felt like I was staying at my friends/family's place with a clothes rack and not lockers. I was comfortable and happy. All in all, clean, friendly and thoughtful service with a great location. Only set back lack of access to the street car. Would definitely stay there again, even if its not just on a budget! Thank you for a great experience!

"Would Stay Again"

User Rating:  4.4
Reviewer:   Wayfaring S. of City, United States
Reviewed:   September 5, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
It was my first time staying at a place like this and I thought it was pretty cool... The staff was very courteous and the house was very clean. I didn't have any security concerns. It was within walking distance to some very good food choices and bars. My only area for improvement would be the temperature control. The AC was set at a very warm temp and it would have been great to have been able to have a fan in the room for a cooler nights sleep. That said I would return.

"Great stay at Garden District House"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Lisiane K. of Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Reviewed:   September 2, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay with them in New Orleans.
We had a private bedroom in the house and the place was clean and organised. Tatiana was nice and helped us giving information about the city and tours.
It was great to have waflles for breakfast!
Defintely recommend this place to other travellers.

"Great value for money"

User Rating:  5.0
Reviewer:   Kirsty B. of Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed:   August 8, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2018     Type:   Couple
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We were just looking for somewhere cheap to stay for the night as we were just travelling through the south and would be in Louisiana for less than 24 hours. Garden district house way exceeded our expectations. Tatianna was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the house is clean and in a good location. It made me feel safe that they have cameras outside where we parked.

"Tip Top!"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Sebastian F. of Lübeck, Germany
Reviewed:   May 12, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2018     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Super Hostel! Sauber, Nettes Personal, netter Hinterhof, Frühstück miteinbegriffen, sauber,... allerdings nur 2 duschen aber mehrere Toiletten. Alles sauber und in Schuss. Würde wieder buchen.
Nach einem kurzen Fußmarsch (

"Great staff"

User Rating:  3.6
Reviewer:   Rosalie D. of Montréal, Canada
Reviewed:   April 26, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
We had the pleasure to spend 4 nights in the Garden district house and we really enjoyed our stay. The place is clean and the staff very helpful.

+100 pts to Tatiana's awesomeness

"Great for a late check-in, super accommodating"

User Rating:  4.9
Reviewer:   Samantha H. of Oakland, CA, United States
Reviewed:   April 10, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   March 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The only flight we were able to book from San Francisco to New Orleans landed at 4:00 am. Thankfully, the hostel staff were able to put my key card in an envelope in an outside mailbox, and we were able to get into our room just fine. The staff were very friendly and the hostel was very clean. We only spent one night here, as we stayed in an AirBNB for the duration of the trip. But I would stay here again!

"Great stay!"

User Rating:  4.8
Reviewer:   Nevin M. of NOLA, United States
Reviewed:   April 6, 2018  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2018     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Only one night twice in three months, but service and accomodations were spot on each time.


1 - 10 of 92 reviews  Next 10 results




InstantBackpackers Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us